The Buildcorp NRC is Australia’s only national Rugby competition. The Buildcorp National Rugby Championships is now entering the third year of competition having been conceived in 2013.

The 2016 competition will have a slightly new look and feel with a new eight-team tournament played over nine consecutive weeks. Seven weeks of round robin before two weeks of finals. 

This year's teams are: Brisbane City, Melbourne Rising, Perth Spirit, Queensland Country, Sydney Rays, UC Vikings and Western Sydney Rams.

Brisbane City has claimed back-to-back titles in the competition, including an undefeated run in 2015.

In the regular rounds of the competition, teams also have the chance to play for the Horan-Little Shield, a challenge trophy that is on offer when the holder comes up against an opponent. The winner keeps the shield, but surrenders it in the event of a loss.

The future of  the NRC has been secured for the next five years, after the announcement of a new ARU broadcast deal in December 2015.


Win a trip for four to the Buildcorp NRC 2016 Grand Final. Your group of four will be treated to travel, one night’s accommodation and free tickets.

All you have to do is post a picture of you in your NRC team’s 4-Person Jersey to Facebook or Instagram. Tag @rugbycomau and use the following Hashtags: #BuildcorpNRC #ForTheGame and your team hashtag, i.e. #4TheRays.

Once your post is done, share the link or screenshot with us through the form below. The lucky winner will be announced no later than Tuesday 18 October.


Be sure to read the T&Cs before entering. All entrants must be available to claim the prize on Saturday 22 October and/or Sunday 23 October. The location will be decided once the semi-finals are complete. TERMS & CONDITIONS



The final round of the 2016 Buildcorp NRC will pay tribute the important role that Pacific Islander communities play in the Australian Rugby community, with all four fixtures set to showcase some scintillating Pacific Island rugby and entertainment.

Already this season, rugby teams representing Tonga ACT, Tonga NSW, Maori NSW, Fiji NSW and Samoa NSW have played matches alongside NRC fixtures, receiving huge support from rugby fans nationwide. These same teams will contest the ‘Pacific Final’ after the Western Sydney Rams v Country Eagles fixture at Concord in Sydney on Saturday 8 October.




Official NRC Competition Beer and Cider Partner

Fox Sports

Official NRC Competition Exclusive Broadcast Partner


Official Ball of the NRC Competition


Official Accommodation provider of the NRC Competition


Official NRC Competition Referees & Officials partner